Wexford Seniors set for Santry!

Michael Bowler (Enniscorthy AC), who will compete in the Pole Vault and 110m Hurdles at the Irish Life Health National Senior Track and Field Championships this weekend. Photo: Sportsfile

The Irish Life Health National Senior Track and Field Championships take place in Morton Stadium, Santry this weekend. Several Wexford athletes are entered and a number of these athletes will be in contention for medals.

Michael Bowler (Enniscorthy AC) is the lead entrant for the Pole Vault. Bowler who won the event at the National Senior Indoor Championships, has recently moved 7th on the Irish All-Time list in the decathlon. Michael cleared 4.60m at the National League final last weekend and should he do that again it is very likely he will make the podium. He also is entered in the 110m Hurdles along with clubmate Peter O’Connor and Aaron Tierney Smith (Menapians AC).

Marco Pons (D.M.P AC) will be one of the favourites in the Men’s Discus. Pons has won the National title on numerous occasions and will look to do the same over the weekend. He will be joined in the competition by clubmate Padraig Hore.

Leon Reid of Menapians AC will have stiff competition to retain his 200m title. Reid has made a couple of appearances on the Diamond League circuit this season. He will face off against the likes of Marcus Lawler (SLOT AC) and Stephen Gaffney (Rathfarnham WSAF AC), who have both ran similar times to him this season.

Leon Reid (Menapians AC)

Fiona Kehoe (Kilmore AC) is entered in both the 800m and 1500m but will only compete in one event. Kehoe, who won the National Indoor 800m title back in 2017, will be in the mix for a medal but will face stiff competition in what will be stacked races.

Fiona Kehoe winning the National Indoor 800m title in 2017. Photo: Brendan Moran, Sportsfile

Elizabeth Egan (Bree AC) will be in strong contention for a medal in the 3000m Steeplechase. Egan, will be up against Michelle Finn (Leevale AC) and Kerry O’Flaherty (Bree AC).

Wexford Entries: Irish Life Health National Senior Track and Field Championships, 27th and 28th of July 2019, Morton Stadium, Santry

Ryan Carthy Walsh: High Jump (Adamstown AC)

Chris St. Claire Johnson: 400m (Adamstown AC)

Adam Fitzhenry: 200m (Adamstown AC)

Elizabeth Egan: 3000m Steeplechase (Bree AC)

Peter O’Shea: Javelin (D.M.P AC)

Marco Pons: Discus (D.M.P AC)

Padraig Hore: Discus (D.M.P AC)

Michael Bowler: 110m Hurdles & Pole Vault (Enniscorthy AC)

Peter O’Connor: 110m Hurdles & High Jump (Enniscorthy AC)

Fiona Kehoe: 800m & 1500m (Kilmore AC)

Leon Reid: 200m (Menapians AC)

Conor Wilson: 100m & 200m (Menapians AC)

Aaron Tierney Smith: 110m Hurdles (Menapians AC)

Michael Deady: 100m (Menapians AC)

Emma Owens: Hammer Throw & Discus (St. Paul’s AC)

Ger Forde: 5000m (Slaney Olympic AC)

Amy Forde: Hammer Throw (St. Killian’s AC)

Day 1 of the Championships will be live streamed on the Athletics Ireland Facebook page from 12pm. There will be TV Coverage on RTE 2 from 5:30pm-8pm on Sunday evening. Timetable below!

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.